A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Depressing and not-so-much

This weekend has been mellow, but not depressing. I’m not really sure what the difference is, from last week to now; perhaps just knowing that I’m not the only one who feels as I do is helping.

Interestingly, to me anyway, I’m finding that in several of the blogs I read routinely, the author’s are also referencing being down, being depressed, feeling useless, writing to “postsecret”, and some other comments that I hadn’t really noticed before. I’m not sure that means they weren’t there, or that I wasn’t clued into the key words, or what. I’m also not sure what, if anything, it means to me, other than even in the cloud of the internet, like attracts like?

Seeking out a new boat is an up and down process as well, I’m finding. Unfortunately, when you’re in the market for a 22-25 foot sailboat, with storage trailer, cruising style, single-handed setup, and not too expensive; well, the unfortunate part is that the nearest suitable results on preliminary searches are many hours driving. That would be just to make the cursory inspection, the initial “is this suitable at all” look. After that, surveys, sea trials, etc, etc.

I really like the looks of the Alberg Kittiwake, or the Bristol 22. The bad part is that none of the available boats come with trailers, and only one of the Bristol’s even has a cradle. That means I’d have to work out some way to keep the Venture’s trailer and have it modified, or find an affordable trailer to add to the new boat; and, since there’s no guarantee of finding a used, suitable trailer, I’d have to plan for the worst-case which would be a custom new, and they run approximately 1500.00+ for similar length Catalinas.

Which, of course, leads to the Catalina 22, third on the list. A very nice boat, but just not as viscerally appealing to me. Practically speaking, probably the best choice, as it’s cheaper (more were made), it’s more readily available, and much, much more likely to come with a trailer.

Heigh Ho, what to do? I dunno, but I figure it’s going to work out somehow.

Fair Winds

Filed under: sailing

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit