A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Green Green, It’s Green They Say

Original posting date 7/20/2006

I was reading a comment from katie in response to This Post, and it made me think of the places I’ve lived, places I’ve visited and the much, much longer list of “Places that I would love to see someday”. This, in turn, put the song “Green, Green, It’s Green They Say” into my head.

I’m wondering, what happened? I used to think I’d be just like the guy in the song, wandering where my fancy took me- the Rockies, where we spent so many summers and skied so many winters; the lakes in Minnesota, the woods of Northern Michigan. Flying into Taos, the Sangre de Cristo looming high over the plains, over the beautiful valley.

Where am I? I’m in rural, upstate New York, and have been living in this house longer than any of the homes we lived in since I left my parent’s. I never, ever dreamed that I’d be working as a corporate drone, living in my imagination as I seem to do these days.

And yet… I see my own children’s faces as we explore the everglades together, for the first time.

And watching a nurse shark swimming below me, making me smile so hard around the mouthpiece of the snorkel the saltwater seeps in, blech and gag.

Walking the beach on the Jersey Shore with my wife, holding her hand and listening to the people, the sounds of the boardwalk.

Taking a picnic high up Boreas Pass, finding a completely isolated meadow and learning even more about one another.

Yes, it’s green, or so they say, on the far side of the hill.

But, it’s not all black, on this side.

Dave

Filed under: depression, family

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit