A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Hats

Listening to a song by Amy Grant last night, as I fell asleep, got me thinking of how we define ourselves, in all our roles- the song is called “Hats”, the part of the lyrics that caught my attention are here:

….One day Im a mother
One day Im a lover
What am I supposed to do?
Hats!
Working for a livin …

The red dress on
Time for having fun
(time for having fun)
But can I really be
The girl you see in me?

The spirit is willing
But the flesh is weak
Why do I have to wear so many things on my head?
Hats! …

It made me wonder, what am I? Who am I? To so many people, so many different roles that we all play, so for fun I listed some of the things that I am:

Husband, Dad, Engineer, Sailor, Pilot, Lover, Friend, Son, Brother, Uncle, Firefighter, Partner, Father, Daddy, “Hey You!”, Scout Leader, Searcher, Explorer, Reader, Writer, Music Lover, Programmer, Cousin, Nephew, Photographer, Sappy-silly-sad song listener…

The list could go on, and on, and no two other people would know the same facets and parts of me as any others, because we all share the parts of us that are most comfortable with the person we’re with, at that time and place.

I wonder, do we ever even know ourselves fully, much less the people around us? And, if not, then isn’t it cool that we get to learn about them, and ourselves, and share pieces of our hearts as we live and grow?

I think that’s so cool, so exciting.

Filed under: meanderings

2 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    I just want you to know, the hats you wear ALL suit you.

    *grin and hug*

    K
    xoxox

  2. Sailor says:

    Thanks Karen, as long as I don’t have to wear them *all* at the same time, my head’s not that big!

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit