A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Online Communities

Interesting people, one can meet online, if you’re looking. I’ve never experienced anything quite like it, honestly; Lynn and I have been together forever, and I’m not a particularly outgoing or confident person, so I’m not very good at, nor comfortable with, parties and strangers and flirty talk, and all that kind of thing.

Don’t have to be, apparently, if you know the right community to hang out in. Seems that pogo is far more than board and card games and puzzles and things like that; it seems, you can also go there to play “THE GAME”. I didn’t know this, until last fall, when I learned, rapidly, and to my amazement, anger, jealousy, and excitement, anticipation and arousal all mixed up.

“THE GAME” is apparently something sortof understood, by most. To some, it appears, it’s flirty coy shy give and take, slowly learning about each other, friendships forming and developing, gradually getting more and more intimate, sometimes leading to cyber-sex, to phone calls, and in some cases even real-life hookups.

To others, it’s much quicker- the first person to ever hop into a canasta game with me pretty much introduced herself with “Hi, do mind if I join?” I said no, of course I don’t mind, or something equally innocent, and her next line was “Do you like to talk dirty?”

She’s still around, I see her here and there, randomly passing by, asking if whomever I’m playing “Likes to talk like we do?” Not so sure about that!

Or, the second person, who was slightly less swift, but equally adept at letting me know, in no uncertain terms, that she was there for cyber-sex, and if I wasn’t interested, she’d go elsewhere. A backwards friendship, really, for although we cybered very quickly, now we’re more likely to chat about work, game techniques, and how the kids are than anything else.

Seems like so many are in search of something; lots of the people that I’ve met, and that I know indirectly through Lynn, are in dysfunctional relationships, have divorced and are searching, just broke up and/or are about to.

I think it’s fascinating, that they all seem to find where to go; is it like that in every large on-line space? Do you find the same seekers, players, watchers and exhibitionists in every community? Is it the anonymity that lets them be quite so quick?

In some cases, certainly, that is probably a big factor. Yet, both the women that I have played with more than once, the photos are of them, there’s no hesitation to offer to turn on a camera “So you’ll know it’s me,” and not many signs of reservation, or drawing back. In fact, as I wrote Here, it’s much closer to Bableand than the corner store, much more fun and accepting; I wonder, do the dating sites feel like the meat market then? If this is Babeland, where’s the red-light district?

Hmmmmm. Luckily, I don’t need to know.

Filed under: meanderings, sex

Leave a comment

counter customizable free hit