A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Meandering again

Today was my first day in a new position, and I think it went well. My new manager is a nice guy, very laid back and casual, which I love. I hate getting the boss that doesn’t grasp that not only are we all on salary, we’re also all owners and partners in the business. In other words, it’s to all of our advantage to make sure the work is performed efficiently and well, and correctly done the first time. This one actually said, flat out, that once I’ve shown that I know the ropes, he’s not going to be looking over my shoulder- work on my schedule, travel permitting, and get the job done, other than that he doesn’t much care when I come in, when I go to lunch, etc.

I’ve been lucky the last few bosses, that way, and I’m sure glad this one feels that way too- I guess after twenty-plus years with this company, I’ve shown that I’ll do what is expected of me!

Lynn and the kids are home now, which has filled the house with noise, and “stuff”. We got the car unloaded within a couple hours of their arrival, but a lot of it is still piled in the living room while it gets sorted and put away. Add to that, we’re in the middle of a three-way room exchange, and we have junk all over the place.

The advantage to this, of course, is that there’s noise and activity and life around, and I’m not likely to get depressed- the black thing will be really wise to stay away from here, with all the family home it’s likely to get hit in the rough-housing if it dares to stick a nose near me!

My niece might get to come and visit in a couple of weeks too, while my sister takes my nephew to school, and that’s always fun. She’s a great kid, the only bad part is that I’ll be working when she’s here, and so wont get to play with her until evening. Oh well, we’ll find time to do something fun, I’m sure.

Is this the silliest post ever? I think so, but wanted to write something, so you get a list of not-much-of-anything, because I can- and seeing that it’s my blog, oh well. Don’t read further if you don’t want to know too much about nothing!

Filed under: family, meanderings, work

2 Responses

  1. Complicated Me says:

    Hi there. I followed a link from the stats on my journal and found you. Thank you for reading me. I appreciate it. Also, thanks for being so open in your own writings. I can relate to a number of things you have written. I believe my husband and I may have a similar relationship to yours. I’m enjoying discovering your journal. Keep writing!

    ~cm

  2. Karen says:

    i think it’s these not-much-of-anything days that mark steps forward in your progress against that unmentionable thing.

    i love hearing about your not-much-of-anything days. there is a relaxed feeling coming through your words, as if that really is how you are feeling, relaxed and chilled out. for me, that’s a beautiful thing to see in you. so thank you for sharing it.

    congratulations on the new position. it certainly sounds like something right up your alley. well done!

    *hugs* and love
    karen

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit