A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Wandering Thoughts Again

Been a while since I had time to write anything, so much is going on I’m sometimes feeling swamped. It’s a good feeling though, so different from when I’d get overwhelmed and be unable to even think about things, in so many ways I’m loving all the aspects of my life these days it’s amazing to me.

This time of year, specifically because of the pain of last year, has been bringing up all kinds of thoughts and memories of what was. A lot of “That was then, this is now,” thinking. I’m not broody about it, mostly, overall it’s been a positive thing- my attitude for the most part has been along the lines of “Look at how much better it is now.” I have the occasional moment of ugh, but generally doing okay with things. Maybe, someday, I’ll be able to not notice any particular day/date combinations and that will be a good thing- but for now, I just keep reminding myself that it’s only a year, so these are the first occurrences of each event’s anniversary and maybe it’s to be expected that I’d notice them.

The class I’m taking, is a joy. As stupid as I’ve felt regarding some of the writings, and some of the author’s methodologies, it is fascinating to begin to get a glimpse into the settings and contexts of the ancient writings that make up the old testament (Hebrew Bible, if you prefer). Last night’s class, for example, we spent hours tracing the political, economic and social settings that were interplaying between Egypt, Mesopotamia and the area that would become Israel and Judea, as well as the combination of circumstances that led to the formation of a national state for the tribes of Israel. Fascinating stuff, for me.

I’ve been getting more involved with our parish, as well, and taught the first Sunday school class of the year for the High School group. What a great bunch of kids, and they have so many things to teach me as well. I wrote our Rector, who is going to be the primary instructor for them, and asked about participating more even on the weeks when he’s there, and that will be fun too.

Did I mention that I decided what to do for my mid-life crisis? (Yes, I deliberately planned it, why would it have to be random? Much more constructive this way!)

I took Beth for ice cream last week, and bought a new car. We’re good at that, she and I have done that a couple times now- run an errand, and come back in a different vehicle. Yup, decided that since Lynn’s Pacifica can tow the boat, and we don’t really need two vehicles that get poor gas mileage, to dump the truck.

Now, I’m driving a silver Chrysler Sebring convertible. Fun little car, too, and it’s kind of fun to have joined the ranks of the middle-aged men that want to have a sexy car. Granted, the truck wasn’t “unsexy”, as we were able to make use of the back of the truck a few times- but, I’m sure we’ll manage to break this one in as well.

So overall, doing pretty good, and that in itself feels pretty good to me. A far cry from last autumn, that’s for damn sure.

Filed under: cars, depression, God, meanderings

2 Responses

  1. Phyllis Renée says:

    Been reading your blog for a fe days now. Even went back to the beginning to kind of get caught up. Good luck on the mis-life crisis. I think my husband is having his second.

  2. Melissa says:

    Been keeping pretty busy, I see!

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit