A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

I’m thinking of heaven

One of the good things about traveling, at least if the travel is for business, is that I can spend some time alone, just to sit and think. The last two weeks, I’ve been away (although home on the weekend, yeah!) and been incredibly busy. Nothing like putting in 12-14 hour days, and then lock yourself in a hotel room.

On the nights we didn’t work that long, I found myself thinking a lot, particularly as I tucked in to try to sleep. Reflecting, looking back at different things that have happened in my life, different attitudes and thought patterns that I can see developing as I’ve gotten older.

Perhaps, as I’ve been accused of, I’m an introspective kook, who thinks too much. But, I rather think that looking at what motivates me to do certain things, examining the whys and wherefores of choices that have been made, is not a bad thing. I don’t always like the conclusions I come to, because sometimes it’s hard to look at myself and see just how inept I’ve been, at some facets of this thing called living a life. No, some things, I wish would just go away, so I don’t have to have the retrospective embarrassment that sometimes occurs, when I think of a particularly stupid or boneheaded move.

But the flipside of that, is that I can look back at some incredibly good things, as well. Some choices, some acts, are so clearly indicating that God has something in mind for me, that I can’t imagine how I thought I could fight it off for as long as I did. Maybe the biggest goof-up is that I wouldn’t listen for so long, despite the not-so-infrequent hints? I don’t know… Perhaps, as has been said in different conversations, I wouldn’t have heard until I’m ready anyway, so there’s little point in worrying about it.

I can look at four wonderful, healthy and well-adjusted and polite kids, and think “I had a hand in that, I helped to teach them manners, helped them to know right from wrong, to be polite and respectful.”

I can look at my family, my two brothers, my sister and my dad, and although not as close as some, I know that if I needed them, any of them, they’d be here in a heartbeat. I know, deep down, that they can feel that from me, too, and that’s pretty special on it’s own.

I have even made some friends, in the last year- which, for me, is pretty amazing. But they’re in my life, to one degree or another, some online only, some I’ve talked too, some are even in-person-friends; I’ve shared stories with them, we’ve cried and laughed and shared hugs, we’ve told each other dreams and nightmares- and a few of them, even come back for more! (Hmmm, what’s wrong with ‘em?)

So, I don’t think that some time to think is a bad thing, overall. But now, sitting here in my big ol’ leather recliner, with Lynn over there >>>>, the kids arriving home from school, well- that’s what I call heaven, really.

Filed under: family, friends, friendship, God, life, love, meanderings

8 Responses

  1. C-Marie says:

    What a sweet post. 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

  2. Redhead Editor says:

    Ahhhh, a little bit of heaven here on earth. You are a blessed man and a sweet friend.

  3. Snow White says:

    Nothing wrong with reflecting… nothing at all! Especially when it gives you inspiration for such a great post. And this was- not to mention something we should all stop and think about every once in a while!

    xox

  4. Phyllis Renée says:

    Great post!!

  5. Sailor says:

    C-marie, Thanks- just meandering thoughts.

    Redhead, I am blessed, sometimes I just wish I could feel that more often.

    Snow- Yes, I wish I was better at thinking about the good, more regularly.

    Phyllis- thanks, as I said to C-marie, just rambling thoughts

  6. for a different kind of girl says:

    Lovely post. It serves as a nice reminder as my own mind rambles!

  7. Melissa says:

    It’s wonderful that you’re introspective at times. Far too few people take the time, and it can be very enriching.

  8. Sailor says:

    fadkog- thank you. It’s nice to ramble sometimes with others that do too!

    Melissa- Only enriching to a point, I think; there are also times to get out and play, and I need to balance that too.

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit