A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Randomness


Self Portait Back
Originally uploaded by sailordlv.

I love this camera; I know I’ve mentioned that before, but I really do. Tonight I was playing around with some lighting, which didn’t quite do what I was trying for, but the camera itself is sure a marvelous toy.

We had a great president’s day weekend, with some friends; very intimate, very special, great skiing. The pouring rain on Sunday night, and off and on Monday could have really been a bummer, but it worked out well anyway.

My computer completely died Friday night, which stinks. I’m writing this on my new machine, and honestly, I hate having to set up new computers. I’m not particularly fond of Vista, either; I’d used it a little before, and wasn’t impressed, and decided that when I had to replace, I’d go to Linux- probably Ubuntu. I debated doing that yesterday, but decided that I’d roll with the Vista for a week or two, just to see if I can tolerate it.

Our daughter is soooo darn sweet. We’re painting her room for her, and all I heard at dinner and afterward, is “I’m so happy, this is so neat, you guys are so great.” Repeatedly. Such a simple thing, to make a little girl sparkle and shine, a little yellow paint and you’d think the whole world is new, and just for her. How can you NOT want to make her feel that way?

Class in NYC tomorrow and Tuesday, so if the weather and trains and timing work out, I’m going to bring the aforementioned camera in again, and see what I might find. Should be a good time, anyway, and it is at least a change.

Hey, I know this was all over- didn’t you read the title of the post?

Filed under: Uncategorized

6 Responses

  1. C-Marie says:

    Randomness is such a good thing….

  2. redheadedtomboy says:

    Love the post and LOVE the photo. I love the lighting and all. It is such a great photo. It’s inspiration to me. GREAT JOB!!!

  3. Phyllis Renée says:

    I wish I could take pictures like that. I’ve got the camera, but not enough privacy. That is a cool pic!

  4. Melissa says:

    Excellent picture! One of these days I have to start reading the camera manual and spend some time experimenting. Great lighting.

  5. for a different kind of girl says:

    What a great photo. I only have a little point and shoot digital and feel limited by it. One day I’ll have a grown up camera!

    Your daughter sounds so sweet! I so love when the smallest things we do for our children seems so glorious to them. Makes me want to constantly be on the lookout for ways to make them feel that way all the time!

    Hope your time in New York goes well!

  6. Sailor says:

    C-marie, I like being random. Keeps my mind from thinking too much, which I’ve been accused of now and then!

    redheaded, thanks! I’ve never tried this type of setup before, but it was fun.

    Phyllis, thankfully the bedroom door has a lock, the kids are big enough to occupy themselves for an hour or so, and my wife understood why she needed to keep them entertained!

    Melissa, go for it; there’s a lot of fun to be had with photos, and thanks- I have more work to do with it, but I’m not hating it.

    fadkog, The point and shoots are a bit limiting; I had to wait a long time for the ‘real’ digital cams (SLR) to get cheap enough for my budget, but I’m sure having fun with it now that I have it!

    Yah, I love the little ones, and she’s a special peanut.

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit