A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Traveling Dream

I’m out of town, again, and will be for the next two weeks. I don’t mind it so much, overall, although certainly I mind it more than I would have a couple of years ago. These days, I miss Lynn terribly, and the kids fiercely. Each night as I tuck into a strange bed, in a strange place, things are just “off”.

The light seeping in the windows is too bright, and on the wrong side of the bed; the glow of the alarm clock isn’t the right color, and the hum of the heater/air conditioner is loud. Things like that, make me restless, and I don’t fall asleep quickly; so, I’ve learned to stay up too late, surfing and playing pogo and chatting with friends, until I’m tired enough to fall asleep quickly.

Sometimes, too, I find that I remember dreams, or maybe I dream more often, or my sleep is lighter? Anyway, for whatever reasons, I remember dreams more when I am away, than when I’m home. At home, I rarely remember them at all. I’d say I don’t dream, but I’ve been assured many, many times that we all do, just don’t know it in the morning.

Last night, I dreamed of an island, where ever it was; it wasn’t tropical, there were all the decidious trees I know from Minnesota, and New York; but this was in an ocean, because it was salt water surrounding it. There were just the two of us there, Lynn and myself, and we seemed to have become nudists. In the dream, we were discussing whether or not it was allowed to use leaves to cover our hair, if it rained, because for some dream reason, there were rules to follow, and this seemed important. I was in favor of not bothering, but Lynn thought I should care and cover my hair, which had magically gotten long.

We hadn’t a house, but we did cook and eat well- ‘cuz there was a brand-new shiny electric(?!) stove under a birch tree, plugged into a hole in the bark. Not sure how that worked, but we were able to cook asparagus and make Holindaisse sauce just fine.

From dinner, as my dreams sometimes jump, we went to go swimming, and were transported to a reef with snorkling gear on, so we could swim around and look at the fish and all, which was cool; but then, there was a crowd of people, all of them naked and pointing at us, saying look, look, they have something on!

Looking down, sure enough, I was now wearing a pair of baggy shorts, and Lynn had on a sarong(I think that’s what its called).

Then, we were running away from the crowd, before they could catch us, as they wanted to shave our heads.

I have weird dreams, when I travel

Filed under: Uncategorized, ,

6 Responses

  1. rht says:

    Wow, what a dream. I like the part about the electric stove sitting under and plugged into the birch tree. 🙂

  2. Very weird dream 🙂 But I looked it up and here’s what I found: To see an island in your dream, signifies ease and comfort after much struggle. To see an ocean in your dream, represents the state of your emotions and feelings. It is indicative of some spiritual refreshment, tranquility and renewal. So, even though it was weird, it was still a very good dream.

  3. You do have odd dreams when you travel! I find I have odd dreams when my husband is away because I definitely don’t sleep as well when I’m alone. I stay up so much later than I need to, hoping to get incredibly tired and fall immediately asleep. All I’m doing is exhausting myself and dreaming about replicating robots with Anthony Bourdain.

    I know. I have no idea!

  4. Wow, the people on Gilligan’s Island could have so used that stove.

  5. Dave says:

    rht: it was pretty funny, really.
    Phyllis: That’s interesting, it never occurred to >me to look them up
    fadkog: Let’s keep the robots off the island, don’t you think?
    redhead: They did pretty well overall, considering they learned to charge the radio’s batteries with a coconut generator.

  6. Kate says:

    That’s a strange dream.
    I do like sarongs. I only have one sarong, but I have five wraps.
    I wonder why they wanted to shave your head. I wonder what that means.

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit