A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Rest In Peace,

Judy-

Judy was killed Monday, in a two car motor vehicle accident, in the village next to ours. Apparently she was trying to make a left turn, and as she crossed the traffic lane she was broadsided, and pronounced dead on arrival at the hospital.

Judy and Fred are parish members, and have been attending our church for longer than I’ve been alive, so you can imagine that there’s been a lot of phoning and going by their house, and a lot of tears, and a lot of talking about pointlessness, and praying.

I can’t imagine how Fred is managing, actually. They had just celebrated their 35th wedding anniversary, two weeks ago. How on earth he’s even remotely functioning is amazing to me- supposedly, from people that have “been there”, there’s a bit of numbness that sets in, that gets one by the first few days. I hope so, for his sake; I know how hard it felt when my mom died, and that was anticipated, not a sudden accident, but it was still awful.

We’re setting up the funeral and wake now; unusually for around here lately, the wake will be held in the Church that Judy loved so much- and I’d venture that there wont be room for the visitors and well-wishers that are going to come by.

The only reason I decided to post anything about this, is to tell you all-

Go and hug the ones you love, right now. Or tell them. Or whatever.

It’s a well-worn out comment, but sometimes things do drive home how quickly and suddenly we can lose that opportunity- so get going, and show whoever needs to know, that you love them and need them.

Don’t miss your chance to do that for those that you care about.

Filed under: Uncategorized

9 Responses

  1. My prayers are with everyone that way! I’ve had very close calls with my Dad this year- so I can just imagine how everyone is doing. It’s never easy.
    And you’re right. You need to let the people you love know you love them. Even if they know. My prayers again, are with everyone involved!

  2. dani says:

    Wow, I am so sorry for everyone’s lose. I will keep everyone in my thoughts and prayers as well.

    Hugs to you my dear friend!

  3. C-Marie says:

    Very tragic. My thoughts go out to you…. and the family. Those words may well be worn out but they’re words to live by.

  4. Dave says:

    Buttafly, thank you. Don’t forget to tell your Dad, too.
    Dani, I’ll take the hugs, and appreciate the prayers too
    C-Marie, that’s so true- live by them, is really what we are shown at these times.

  5. I called both my daughters after attending the memorial service of a former student who died at 40 of colon cancer. Told each one I loved her. We can’t say it often enough. Thanks for the reminder. Hugs and prayers to you and your church family.

  6. Kate says:

    That’s very sad about Judy. Cars kill so many people, yet people still drive like maniacs.

    Thanks for the reminder. I’ll do that.

  7. Lil Bit says:

    Oh my, so sorry to read of your loss.

    We never know how long we have on this planet… or how long we have friends & loved ones walking our paths with us, either — always wise words to remember to express our love and to spread our light to others.

    *big hugs*

  8. Desmond Jones says:

    As I type this, Molly is at the visitation for a grade-school classmate of hers. Life is indeed uncertain. . .

    Fred will be in my prayers today. . .

  9. Dave says:

    RHE- I’m glad you did, and thank you for the prayers.
    Kate- They do, but even so we never know- so I’m glad you’ll do it
    LilBit- Thank you for the hugs, they help
    Desmond- It is, and I am not one to ever turn away a prayer, for I believe it’s the most effective thing to do when times get hard.

    Thank you all

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit