A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Overwhelmed, so what if I am?

I am amazed, sometimes, by the community that forms among and between people on the internet, the support and encouragement that passes around, the friendships that are made.

Specifically, I’m referring to these comments, made in response to the prior post. I was looking them over, and honestly felt overwhelmed, by the kindness and openness that you all share. The encouragement, the prayers, the relating are things that I’ve never had from anyone in RL, except for one or two, at most, so it’s very strange, to me, to feel that someone actually notices.

For years, I called myself ‘the invisible man’ (in lowercase, even verbally, cuz it doesn’t draw attention). I wouldn’t know how to start talking to people, sharing or learning about their lives, as we do among these blogs. Yes, I know, some are probably not-quite-real, all of them are only a small bit of the complex people behind the writing- but still, I love seeing new posts, learning about the people who are helping to teach me that I can and should stick around for the next bit.

Yeah- I was feeling overwhelmed- with gratitude and appreciation for you all. So sue me, or take away my macho-card, if you must, but I will say thank you- to you all, whether you comment or not, whether I know you’re reading, or not.

Thank you!

Filed under: depression, , , , , , , ,

8 Responses

  1. Lil Bit says:

    One doesn’t have to lose their “macho card” just to be real and put it out there, my friend.

    *big hugs* from the South =)

  2. Kate says:

    Hugs from here too!

  3. Absolutely no need to cash in the macho card. It is truly amazing the circle of friendship that happens out here in the blogworld, and some of the best people you’ll ever know are people you may never “know.”

  4. Being “real” is the thing that most grabs my heart- as I am sure it does a lot of people. There doesn’t need to be any Macho cards- 🙂 One of my “bestest” friends I started talking to online when I was 15. I’m now almost 30- and she’s still one of my bestest friends, and we have met- years ago now- but I could have never imagined anyone “knowing” the real me that wasn’t on the internet because I tend to have trouble verbally expressing my feelings- when we met IRL, I didn’t have to put on any kind of act- and she knew “me”…. That was one of the best feelings I’ve ever experienced. Keep it real, and never worry about that “macho” card…

  5. C-Marie says:

    I think when someone is very capable of expressing their feelings, it conveys a real and compassionate message – a message sometimes the rest of us can relate to. Doing that here has some wonderful benefits and tends to cloak us with some sense of feeling safe. I admire your courage and honesty.

  6. It is a wonderful gift, the relationships that people form in these online communities. It’s an odd thing, having strangers know a side of you that your friends and relatives in real life don’t even have a clue about.

    Take care of yourself. I’m very glad you’re here!

  7. Kate says:

    Just came by to say hi and see how you’ve been doing. I see you must be busy. I’ll drop by later. 🙂

  8. C-Marie says:

    Stopped by and looked at your awesome pics! Plus, I just wanted to say thank you for stopping by and commenting as you do. It’s greatly appreciated!

    Hope all is well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit