A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Nostalgia

I’ve been playing with my camera a ton, in the last couple years, which is a wonderful thing for me. I’ve actually sold some images, which pleased me, because I don’t think of myself as a professional. Although not many, it was a nice feeling that others appreciated my eye.

One of the things I’ve been doing is using the flickr service. In flickr, there are many, many groups, in all kinds of themes, that people can join, and send their photos to, just for the fun and feedback. Groups such as: “Only Yellow Flowers”, “Still Life with Vegetables”, “ArtsyNudes”, and so on. There’s a group for just about anything you can think of, and if there isn’t a suitable group for your tastes, well, you can create one.

One group I just joined, is called: Mission 24. Basically, about once a week, an email is sent with a theme; you then have 24 hours to interpret, photograph, process and upload photos that meet that theme, to your mind. Today, I completed my first assignment, and wanted to share one of the photos here too.

The theme is Nostalgia; one of the photos is here:

edison-player

Here’s the text I put beneath the photo, explaining why this is nostalgic to me, and where the inspiration came from:
For Mission 24, “Nostalgia”. I started thinking about that, and my mind wandered to my paternal grandfather. When I was young, from about 6 through perhaps 10, He would on special occasions get out the Edison Cylinders, and play them on this antique player.

I used to love those times, he and I would sit on the floor in front of the machine, listening to the crackly, scratchy old recordings of artist’s long gone, and in some cases not identified on the recordings and so unknown.

When I took these shots, I had the “Root Beer Rag” playing, as it was his favorite of them all. Not that you can hear it or tell the player is going- but I know, and I smiled.

Silly, maybe, but I think Granddad may have smiled, too.

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses

  1. I often think back to things that my Grandparents did with me. And there are times, that I wish I could have remembered those things, while they were alive, so that I would be able to make them known by other people, just to say how much certain things really meant to me. I also often cut my thoughts short… I’ve had a hard time dealing with the passing of my Grandmother 2 years ago….that I often push those thoughts and feelings to the back burner.

    I like this picture… 🙂 And even though I never dealt with an old player like this, I remembered the old books on record that we used to sit and listen to. Made me smile! 🙂

  2. Lil Bit says:

    Oh wow, Sailor — that’s so cool!
    I really like that you chose to make this pic B&W (so fitting, for the subject matter).
    And what wonderful memories of your grandfather!! I’m a lil bit envious, having lost my grandparents at a young age.
    Memories are a treasure — as is that pic.

    Yep, I still have “check out flickr groups” on my ‘to do’ list, lol — I know that’s gonna take a while to see what all is over there.

    Thanks for sharing some of your photography here with us! =)

    ps. CONGRATS on selling some shots, too! — Did you also do that thru flickr? … or somewhere else?

  3. Lil Bit says:

    Oh yeah, duh, lol …. ps. HAPPY NEW YEAR! =)

  4. Kate says:

    I love that nostalgia picture. That looks so pretty. Good job with the look of the picture too. It looks old.

    Happy New Years!

  5. tam says:

    Cool pics!! Happy New Year to you and your family! 😀

  6. Kate says:

    Thanks for coming by and hope you’re having a wonderful 2009 so far.

  7. therese says:

    Cool picture and cool story to go with it!

  8. Wenchy says:

    WHY am I not on your blog roll… so sad I am now. *sniff*

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit