A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Connections

I’ve been accused, a few times, of not being quite-so-rock-like, as I used to be; nor even, by one or two people, a rock atall, atall.

Well. Um.

Yeah, me. Sometimes, I’ve been known to, just a little bit, now and then perhaps- well, maybe a teeensy bit- I well, um… sometimes, people get the strange idea that I might get a little sappy, once in a very great while.

Yes, I know what you’re thinking, you’re saying to yourself now, “Not Dave, not the ROCK, the one that has no feelings, that feels no pain, is an Island, not THAT one, not sappy!”

I, of course, agree with you, don’t agree with those others in the slightest; I am a rock, solid and unemotional and uncaring and cold and all of those other traits you’ve grown to know and love. They’re merely spreading vicious rumors around, right? Right!

Now, keeping that in mind, the conversation I had this weekend, probably was just a dream, or something. Yeah, that’s it, a dream!

I didn’t tell a very special someone about how I love the deep, deep strong connection that we share. I didn’t mention to her, that I could feel her, across the miles, across the hours; I naturally never said anything at all, about how magical and wonderful that feels, and certainly I never ever said anything about it making me feel all warm-melty inside; no, not ME, I never said such things. Ahem. Of course not. Never.

I never mentioned that even when separated, we’re still joined in amazing ways, that just hearing her, seeing her, sends a thrill through me, nope.

And, of course, I certainly never said anything about magic- I wouldn’t do that, nohow. I never said magical connections, or indicated that I knew anything about that kind of magic.

Did I? I DID? Me?

Well… mebbe. Mebbe, once in a while, even a rock gets to feel some magic, gets to recognize a connection that is more real than can be explained in logical words.

Yeah. Me. So… sue me, lol- take away my man-card, impeach me as president of the un-emotionals… Yeah, I did say it- and feel it- and continue to feel it-

I celebrate it, in laughter and sillyness, in wonder and joy, and tears and hugs and special times shared. Surprises given, dark eyes sparkling, joint insights, long intimate talking-time, sharing and learning and growing even closer, even when we think we’re as close as can be, there is more. More to know, more to explore, more to want.

So, here’s a different kind of song; not a song of “Hello Darkness”… but one that came to my mind, as I was remembering that conversation; one that, maybe our friend  Madeliene herself would know, and understand? Maybe? I think so- and maybe there’s a few others out there, too, that will get  this:

Give a listen… let yourself go a little bit, drift along and dream; yeah, I know, sappy and silly and so what? Even a rock can appreciate a little softness, once in a while.


Why are there so many songs about rainbows and what’s on the other side?
Rainbows are visions, but only illusions, and rainbows have nothing to hide.
So we’ve been told and some choose to believe it.
I know they’re wrong wait and see.

Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection.
The lovers, the dreamers and me.
Who said that wishes would be heard and answered when wished on the morningstar?

Someone thought of that and someone believed it.
Look what it’s done so far.
What’s so amazing that keeps us stargazing and what do we think we might see?

Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection.
The lovers, the dreamers and me.
All of us under its spell.
We know that it’s probably magic.
Have you been half asleep and have you heard voices?
I’ve heard them calling my name.

Is this the sweet sound that calls the young sailors.
The voice might be one and the same.

I’ve heard it too many times to ignore it.
It’s something that I’m supposed to be.

Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection, the lovers, the dreamers and me.
Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection, the lovers, the dreamers and me.

Filed under: communication, emotions, , , , , ,

7 Responses

  1. Cocotte says:

    Sometimes it’s hard to open yourself up to another person. It just feels way too vulnerable.

  2. Anonymous says:

    But you know (and I know you know), it’s the vulnerability that allows for the really deep connections with another person that make human life rich. . .

    From the same Simon & Garfunkel song (I Am a Rock) – “If I never loved, I never would have cried” . . .

  3. Dave says:

    Cocotte: I know… it is vulnerable, but I think that’s also part of why it’s so damn thrilling

    Anonymous: Yes, you are very right; I just take longer to learn some things, I guess.

  4. Craig says:

    Sorry; Anonymous above is me. . .

  5. Dave says:

    Craig: Still a valid comment 🙂

  6. cuppateame says:

    I don’t like being vulnerable, it scares me. I’ve already been in one relationship that got really complicated, one that started as a friendship and turned into something a bit more. A part of me still feels like I was being used (the part of me that’s in denial that he even cared, even though he said he did…). But of course, I won’t go into to it, that part of my life is over and I need to get over it.

    Anyway, it’s hard to be open with someone, but if you ever are and the other person is open with you, then it’s truly magical. Wonderful friendships blossom as a result!

  7. Dave says:

    Cuppateame: It is scary, but sometimes, it’s scary-exhilarating-wonderful, too- like facing something we want to do, despite fears and worries.

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit