A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Black Things Suck- Big Time!

I have found it interesting, in the last few months, that I’m much more drawn, in my personal life, to the area of suicide awareness & depression, than I ever considered before.

I know, I have had my own struggles- if you’ve read here much, you’re aware of much of that, already. I recently finished the first part of training for the IamAlive program, an online-support type system that is being setup, similar to the 1-800-suicide lines, to work as a volunteer in supporting people with immediate needs. I’ve found myself, via phone, email & text, trying to offer what I can, to more than a few people that seem to find me fairly easy to talk to, about their own struggles.

I wonder, lately- is it that I’ve grown more empathetic? Is is that I’ve always had this inside me, this need to help if I can? Or, is this an outgrowth of my own depression, and the comfortable place I’m in (at the moment, praise God)?

I dunno… but, I know that I’m drawn to this in a way that feels right, so I’m going to go ahead and do the next part of the training, when I can afford it.

However, in the meantime, on a related note- one of my dear blogger friends, is struggling, and having just returned to blogging under prodding, could use a little support, a little help- so, go give a read and some love, willya?

Redheadeditor

Filed under: Uncategorized, , ,

7 Responses

  1. Cocotte says:

    I’ve always found that in helping others, I’m usually helping myself just as much. I’ll go check out your friend’s blog!

  2. Craig says:

    Well, God bless you, Dave, for turning your own experience toward the good of others.

  3. Dave says:

    Cocotte: Thanks, and you’re 100% correct, helps us as much as anyone else, I think!

    Craig: Hopefully, it’s going to do some good!

  4. BFD says:

    *sneaks in the side door
    *waving

    ‘Hi…..’ can I come in?

  5. Dave says:

    BFD: Hi, welcome- no need to sneak, c’mon in and pull up a chair. The rooms here are padded though, cuz I’m nuts šŸ™‚

  6. You’re not nuts Oh, maybe I’m nuts. So then does that make you nuts? As always, you’re a sweetie for keeping me in your heart during times of trouble.

  7. Dave says:

    redheadeditor: OF course I’m nuts, but that’s okay, as long as it’s clear to all, that I get dibs on being the cashew!

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit