A Rock Feels No Pain

In despero , obscurum ; In Diligo , Lux lucis. (In despair, darkness; In Love, Light). -Me

Five Years Ago

Today, I was in California, on an unfortunately extended visit; I’d flown an airplane from my home in NY, to return it to the owner & have a weeks vacation with my mom & dad.

That was on October 1; the unfortunate part is that while there, mom’s health spiraled down, and by the 5th, I was calling my siblings with a simple message: “It’s time to get out here.”

Mom held on long enough for all four of us to get to her, and we had some times when she was awake and lucid enough to share a few special moments together, but mostly at that point the painkillers were keeping her pretty foggy.

She died, five years ago today, and I still miss her, dammit.

Dammit mom, I miss you, what’d you have to go and do a silly thing like dying for?

Filed under: anniversary

12 Responses

  1. Beryl says:

    I’m sorry, S…I hope the day is gentle for you.

  2. Dave says:

    Beryl: Thanks- just a day, I guess I was just feeling it a bit

  3. Cocotte says:

    Very sorry for your loss. Wishing you peace.

  4. Dave says:

    Cocotte: Thanks; it’s been a long time, you’d think I’d be less susceptible by now

  5. tam says:

    so sorry. 😦 My thoughts are with you and I too wish for you peace.

  6. Dave says:

    Tam: Thank you, I’m good 🙂

  7. Melissa says:

    Some days it hits hard, but it can make us feel like they’re right there – remembering and missing feel like a connection sometimes. Sounds like you were close to your mom and I’m sorry you lost her.

  8. Dave says:

    Melissa: It does feel that way sometimes- you’re right, and that’s not a bad thing. We were close, yes- and I’ll take missing her, for remembering that.

  9. autumn says:

    i’m so touched reading this. **hugs** my mother also passed away. it’s never easy. i’m so glad she waited for you all. beautiful and thoughtful.

  10. Dave says:

    autumn: Thanks, and hugs for you, too.

  11. Lola! says:

    So sorry to hear about your mom. I’m so glad you were all able to get a few special moments with her at the end. I lost my mom nearly 16 years ago in a car accident. I still miss her nearly everyday. I know this post is more than a week old, but **hugs** anyway.

  12. Dave says:

    Lola!: Thank you… it’s never too late for hugs, I think, and I”m sorry to hear of your loss as well; *hugs* for you, too.

Leave a Reply

counter customizable free hit